SHOP SESSIONS - What they are and why we do them / by Tom Sands

Recently, as you might have seen on our social media platforms, we have been delving into the world of recording and filming musicians to showcase our instruments and their talent. Although the name ‘SHOP SESSIONS’ may lead you to believe the sessions take place solely in the workshop, we’ve had the pleasure of filming in all sorts of wonderful locations, bringing a part of our work to each different place to celebrate musicianship and the craft of high end instrument building together.

A SHOP SESSION filmed at the Broughton Hall Estate in North Yorkshire with Justin Manville.

Despite being committed instrument builders, our SHOP SESSIONS have allowed us to begin to nurse passions as sound engineers and videographers. Having our particular interests fall into place as a team (Tom as sound engineer and Daisy as videographer), we can swap our knowledge and create unique projects that become not only useful marketing tools for both our instruments and the musicians we record, but also fond memories. We have met so many wonderful people from doing these passion projects, but also have featured some familiar faces…

Being in North Yorkshire, we have also had access to the thriving music scene of Leeds, and in particular the Leeds College of Music. We have met some wonderful musicians from the college, who made the trip to Ripon to record with us. We love learning from them, too, about their recording experiences and their favoured style during not only recording but also in terms of writing original material. Esme Bridie and Tamzene are two examples of this - and Will Killen, who studied sound engineering at university, was so interesting to discuss microphones with! check back soon for his SHOP SESSION.

Of course, it’s super important to us that we’re putting out good content and working with a range of musicians in terms of genre and style. There is enormous value in getting our guitars in the hands of different musicians, helping to broaden our understanding of exactly what they are looking for, and the things that they pick up on that we may not be so acutely aware of. As well as this, we’d love to hear from our viewers and friends, and hear your feedback as to which sessions you particularly enjoyed, and what you’d like to see more of. Where would you like to see one filmed? Here are a few more to get you thinking… plus some photos in action!

58421624562__B364334B-F0D8-4C9F-8C7D-8968270F4C89.jpg
Screenshot 2019-07-24 at 13.44.24.png
Screenshot 2019-07-24 at 13.43.22.png
Screenshot 2019-07-24 at 13.43.36.png

More to come very soon! Leave a comment or drop us a message on any of our social media pages, it’s much appreciated. Thank you!

The personal links to our musicians so far (all of our SHOP SESSIONS can be found over on our YouTube page, www.youtube.com/tomsandsguitars).

Dolly Mavies: https://www.dollymavies.com

Esme Bridie: http://esmebridie.com

Tamzene: https://www.tamzene.com

Will Killen: https://soundcloud.com/will-killen

Clive Carroll: http://clivecarroll.co.uk

Will McNicol: https://www.willmcnicol.co.uk

Justin Manville: https://justinmanville.com

Daisy Tempest: http://daisytempest.org

Henry Bateman: https://www.henrybateman.co.uk